Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Is it necessary to have a switch on a small network?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    19

    Is it necessary to have a switch on a small network?

    I have around 4 pc at my office. I had started a small business and there are 4 pc. I had configured LAN connection on the same. I am having a router which has around 4 ports on the backside. I want to know that should I connect the pc to the router port directly or connecting them to a switch is good. I had not yet bought the switch. Because I am bit confuse here. I do not really think a switch can help me much. I am going to use this 4 pc only and if there is any laptop then they can connect through wifi. Any suggestions from your side?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    107

    Re: Is it necessary to have a switch on a small network?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike-India View Post
    I have around 4 pc at my office. I had started a small business and there are 4 pc. I had configured LAN connection on the same. I am having a router which has around 4 ports on the backside. I want to know that should I connect the pc to the router port directly or connecting them to a switch is good. I had not yet bought the switch. Because I am bit confuse here. I do not really think a switch can help me much. I am going to use this 4 pc only and if there is any laptop then they can connect through wifi. Any suggestions from your side?
    Switch setup can be good if in future you are planning to extend your network.

    I am quite sure if your business increases you will have to add more pc and then you will need a bigger switch with multi-port connection. For that you have to add one. Buy a cheaper on from the market with different ports and then use it. The setup is not complicated. You have to configure a place where all things will be kept.

    You can hook the switch, router and modem on that. Do not just go with the router. It will give you less output.

  3. #3

    Re: Is it necessary to have a switch on a small network?

    When you connect all the pc to the router then I thin your router will get hot really fast. And there will be issue with speed fluctuation... There is one thing you are missing. If you connect the pc to the router I am not sure you will be able to use the LAN connection properly.

    You have to configure a high speed switch for internal LAN file transfer. Your setup will be incomplete without switch. Your setup will be a lot easier and you will also get a good amount of file transfer speed when there is a switch configured on the same.

Similar Threads

  1. How to Switch On and Off LG G Watch
    By NokDroid in forum Smartphone & Portable Fixes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-07-14, 10:00 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-13, 01:51 PM
  3. How to bridge network connection on PC
    By Light in forum Networking & Connectivity
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-12-12, 01:40 PM
  4. Unable to switch from KDE 4 to Fluxbox on Backtrack 5
    By bharat in forum Application and Softwares
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-01-12, 09:56 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-11, 07:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


About TechDiscussion

    TechDiscussion.in is an Open Source Community to provide latest information from Technology World, provide instant help for users tech related issues, we provide free downloads for your Computers, Smartphones, and more...

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook youtube RSS Feed Flickr DavianArt Dribbble