Thread: MS Security Essentials wont uninstalls and wont work either

MS Security Essentials wont uninstalls and wont work either

I hope somebody from here can help me out of this annoying problem. My system is running Microsoft Security essentials since past few months and i never had any problem. But dont know what went wrong suddenly. Since yesterday whenever i boot my PC, MSE wont boot itself. I checked in the MSCONFIG > Start up, it is allowed but wont start.

Now when i try to launch it manually, it gives me an error message saying "Windows can not access the specified path." As i'm not tech savvy, i dont have any idea which path is it talking about. Some of my colleagues suggested me to try re-installation. Well, i tried to uninstall the MSE so that i can install it back, but i was surprised to see another error message which says "You do not have sufficient access to uninstall MSE."

Damn, i'm the only administrator of this computer and it says i dont have sufficient access. If i dont, then who? Any help would be appreciated.

Re: MS Security Essentials wont uninstalls and wont work either

I have been through exact situation couple months ago. It is actually not the fault of MSE, instead your is infected with some dangerous malware which has also made MSE not functional. Atleast in my case, it was malware. After lots of troubleshooting finally i got a full working solution. Somebody suggested me to scan the entire system using HitmanPro.Kickstart Flash Drive. Yes, it is a malware and ransomware remover and is very effective. If you want you can download the same from here. And obviously you might be not aware how to run it from Flash Drive, so check this video tutorial for the same:

Hey Georgie girl, did you tried the above solution? Did it worked? I'm not able to make the Flash Drive even watching the videos. Isn't there any other alternate way?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Fulton View Post